New Year, New Goals, New Recipe

So here you are, looking the last day of 2013 square in the face.  Whether your 2013 was stellar, riddled with hardships, or a beautiful mess of both, the good news is is that 2014 starts tomorrow. I really love the idea of new beginnings and many of you right now are right there with me, making resolutions and making choices to be a better version of yourself in 2014.  Now traditionally, resolutions don’t stick so much right?  And why is that?   Dave Ramsey has been quoted as saying:

“The difference between a dream and a goal is a plan,” and it’s so true. Many resolutions are dreams and dreams are not measurable. Its a beautiful idea to say,” this year I will get healthy” or “this year I will start _____,” but without a plan of action, you set yourself up to fail.  So THIS year, let’s try something different.  Let’s try setting goals with accompanying tangible & measurable plans of action.   Now, I would jump into a full on explanation of this, BUT there’s no need.  My hubby did an amazing job of this a couple of weeks back on his blog!  Check it out here.  And in the meantime love, let me hook you up with an uber delicious way to stick to the number one “goal” of all time:  Get healthy.

As you know from my About Me page, this girl has food allergies.  And while food allergies can be a huge pain sometimes, overwhelmingly, I’m very grateful for them because they’ve taught me so much about truly being healthy.  Growing up, I was always very health conscience, but I was really more of what I call “fake healthy.”  I ate a lot of low-fat and sugar free things simply because they we’re lower in calories, not because they were going to increase the health of my body. SO, food allergies, and specifically a corn allergy, helped me to eliminate that.  Namely because 90% of sugar-free substitutions are made from corn.  (If you feel like getting overwhelmed just for fun, take a look at all the different names that corn masquerades as in our food, freaky! lol)

So here is a unbelievably yummy recipe that is also allergy friendly.  So whether you are gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan or just looking to try something new, look no further.  The biggest endorsement I can give this recipe is that my gluten eating, carnivore loving friends and family say its the best Banana Bread they’ve ever had.  Take that food allergies! So here you go:

IMG_3214

Gluten-free, dairy-free, corn-free best ever Banana Bread:

  • 1/4 c Coconut oil melted
  • 1/4 c Sweet Leaf Sugar Leaf (1/3 the calories of sugar with all the taste)
  • 1/4 c Pure Maple Syrup (you could also use honey or agave)
  • 2 eggs beaten (Vegans can sub flaxmeal & water)
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 3/4 c Pamela’s Gluten-Free Mix
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract (make sure you’re is gluten & HFCS free)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine oil, Stevia blend, syrup, eggs, bananas and applesauce; mix well.

IMG_3217

add remaining ingredients & mix well

IMG_3218

IMG_3219

Pour into a well greased loaf pan, and lick the spoon…just kidding…actually not kidding at all 😉

Bake for 45-55 minutes depending on your oven.  Just keep a close eye on it and once its out let it cool before you slice it unless you want to end up with Banana Bread crumble! 🙂

Now, for all intents and purposes, I was going to take a beautiful picture of the finished product, BUT my family gobbled it up before I got a chance! So, here is the remainder of the finished product on my cute Target clearance plate.

20131231-134314.jpg

Hears to New Goals, New Years and a delish new recipe!

-Meg

Comments

  1. That banana bread looks incredible! Nicely done. 🙂
    {visiting from Jack of All Trades}

    Like

  2. I am so excited! I was just going to look for a GF banana bread recipe this weekend! I’ll definitely be trying this out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

